寄托币
注册时间
2001-9-3
精华
帖子

Aries白羊座 荣誉版主

发表于 2004-8-29 15:20:54 |显示全部楼层
  Program: MS in Computer Science

I grew up in Oscar, Ohio, where I attended Pleasant Meadows High School, a nationally recognized college preparatory institution. Pleasant Meadows is a public school which all academically inclined students throughout the city can attend if they manage to pass an entrance examination. At Pleasant Meadows I was placed in the honors program; later I took six advanced placement courses, receiving college credit for five of them. I also completed three full years of Greek and two full years of advanced German. I graduated from Pleasant Meadows in the top ten percent of my class.

Upon graduating Pleasant Meadows I was accepted to Carillon Cross University. Since my family was of very modest means, I relied heavily on financial aid. I immediately decided to become a chemical engineer, a decision that was not well informed. My first semester at Carillon Cross was promising, but I struggled through the next three years pursuing a career that I eventually had to admit did not interest me. I learned from this experience that my true strengths and interests lay not in applied technology but, rather, in the philosophical constructs of scientific principles.

So, it is not surprising that, in reaction to my unsatisfactory engineering experience, I spent the next year and a half in the humanities, completing a B.A. degree in history, which I was awarded in the Spring of 1987. I excelled during my studies in the history department, but I decided that I did not want to pursue graduate study in the field. While considering career options, I took the LSAT, which strongly tests analytical ability, placing in the 95th percentile. However, I really wanted to pursue a career in the sciences.