注册时间
2002-10-24
精华
帖子
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2003-11-10 05:19:56 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
From be an actuary

The following discussion on suggested computer languages for potential actuaries originally appeared on CASNET, an Internet e-mail list on casualty actuarial topics. All the responses were submitted by working actuaries.

Question
I am a student in college majoring in mathematics and am taking actuarial exams. My question is with regards to computer languages (programming). What languages would you advise potential actuaries to learn in order to be more marketable to the actuarial profession? Please let me know what are the most common languages that employers desire their actuaries to know.

Response 1
I’m at my 4th company in 7 years (3 of them primary carriers, the other a rating organization). One company required a proficiency in SAS programming. All required Excel (not a programming language, but Visual Basic is sometimes used for macros). Database programming is also useful. Two companies I worked for used FoxPro for organizing large databases of claim information. Another company used Access. I would recommend knowing basic programming skills (via Visual Basic), but focusing more on complete knowledge of Excel and one of the powerful database applications like FoxPro or DBase.

Response 2
Visual basic would be my first choice. I found that mainframe skills and "true" programming languages aren’t nearly as helpful as being more than conversant with Excel and Access. Everyone is "familiar" with spreadsheet applications but few people can work with all the functions, options, tools, and particularly macros that such applications can offer.