帖子
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2004-7-12 15:05:59 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
发信人: songhaitingt (  松海听涛), 信区: Visa
标  题: 7月9日 J1 哲学专业 北京 1000 Pass
发信站: BBS 水木清华站 (Sat Jul 10 02:18:10 2004), 站内

7月9日 J1 哲学专业 北京 1000 Pass

本来是7月8日中午12:45就应该签的,结果因为美国大使馆的指纹系统故障,被调到7月9日中午12:30了。7月9日当天其实是在下午1点才被放进大使馆的,排队、交表(Resume也一起交了进去)、扫描指纹,进入面签等候区大约是在1点40左右了。拿的是深紫色的牌儿。

很快被带到4号窗口,是个亚裔的签证官,年轻人,很瘦,估计就是BBS上传说的那个“亚裔哥哥”吧。我当时心里就很轻松了,觉得一定没问题。

我是那队第四个签的,第一个是父母在美国的mm,pass;第二个去美国做Computer Science的gg,reject;第三个是老公在美国的一个mm,全部过程都说的是中文,但是资料没带全,签证官说只要带全资料就能通过了。第四个就是我了。

Me:Good afternoon, Sir. Nice to meet you! Here is my card.
VO: Nice to meet you too! What will do at C College?
Me: I will have some classes and do some research there. As I’ve mentioned in my resume, my major is analytical philosophy and epistemology … (本来还想说两句的,结果被签证官打断)
VO: How long will you stay there?
Me: About 10 months.
VO: %&(^%$*&(& your degree? (我没听清)
Me: Sorry, I beg your pardon?
VO: I mean whether you will get any degree of this college.
Me: Oh, no. C College is an undergraduate college in US and I am MA candidate in my university. I cannot get any degree of C College.
VO: I see… Your inviting letter?
Me: Well, here you are. And here is the Agreement of the Exchange Visiting Program between C College and my university. Do you want to see it?
VO: Of course. (开始看我的邀请信和协议)
Me: I also have C College’s Prof.’s letter to the VO … (感觉这里,我是有点多嘴了,签证官根本没有理我,我也就不再说下去了)
VO: Who will support you for this Program?
Me: C College, of course – the department of P at C College.
VO: As it is the Exchange Program, C College will send their students to your university?
Me: No, actually, they just selected some Chinese students to their college.
VO: Then why will they give you money?
Me: Sorry, the phone is not well. Can you repeat your question? Thank you! (其实说当时我听清楚了那个问题,不过当时有点发懵,不知道该如何回应,就让他重复一下问题,好给自己争取一点时间,呵呵)
VO: How will you benefit their department or college, I mean, they give you $27,000 per year, why?