注册时间
2005-12-21
精华
帖子
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2007-7-24 13:31:32 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
写作:
You have the opportunity to visit a foreign country for two weeks. Which country would you like to visit? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

If I had the opportunity to pay a visit to a foreign country, the United States is my first choice. I want to go to this country for several reasons.

First of all, I want to visit some universities that I want to apply for in the future. I am a graduate student studying for master degree now. I am seeking for an suitable university in America because I want to continue with my further study for PhD. Since the information from web sites are limited, I have a dream that if only I could pay a visit to my ideal universities before application, for example, Johns Hopkings University. In this case, I can to directly speak to the professors in the major of bioinformatics. The most interesting topics to me are how much finance support they would give to your students every year, how many students they want next year, and what specific technique of computer science they may use. I think that if could get such useful information before application, the possibilities of success will be largely increased. This is one reason why I want to visit U.S.

Secondly, I want to visit my uncle in the U.S. I love my uncle very much who is in New York. I clearly remember that when I was very young, my uncle brought me to the most beautiful park in my home town in China and took a lot of photos. He was very humorous and easy going. However, I have not seen my uncle for more than 20 years after he settled in America. I miss him very much. I know he have twins children recently whom I have never seen. I want to talk with him about those interesting thing in the past, and those about my relatives. Also I want to see how lovely his twin sons are. All these attract me to visit U.S.