寄托天下 寄托天下
查看: 1101|回复: 0
打印 上一主题 下一主题

[美国&加拿大] Why I Quit BigLaw, by an HLS JD https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/54334544 [复制链接]

声望
寄托币
注册时间
2019-1-8
精华
帖子
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2019-1-8 13:08:15 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
本帖最后由 wechatisjustimko 于 2019-1-8 13:10 编辑

Over three years have passed since I graduated from HLS and passed the New York bar exam. Yet I have never actually practiced law in any country or capacity, nor do I have any intention of doing so in the near future. To be sure, there are many occasions when I question the logic behind this decision. Given my academic background, there will always be a chance that I make a return to the legal profession in some form. But as of now I have no regrets.

It goes without saying that lawyers are often assumed to be of a relatively high socioeconomic class, and they also tend to command a considerable amount of respect amongst large segments of the population. T.V. shows such as “Suits” and “Making a Murderer” attest to the fascination that many members of the public continue to have with legal practice. And the incessant scandals surrounding the Trump administration have thrust the role of law itself into the spotlight, with the President straining the limits of his constitutional authority while judges are forced to take sides in an increasingly polarized environment.