精华
帖子

Scorpio天蝎座 荣誉版主 挑战ETS奖章 QQ联合登录

跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2006-5-4 15:24:05 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
PS范例——Environmental Engineering
http://cn.oversea.yahoo.com/030102/255/1egig.html

I wish to enter the Environmental Engineering and Science program at the University of Richmond (UR) and obtain a Master of Science degree in Environmental Engineering. I am specifically interested in bioremediation of hazardous waste, and in all aspects of applied microbiology. As an undergraduate in the same program, I have had the opportunity to participate in several research projects at UR and elsewhere. Since the first semester of my freshman year in college, I have wanted to be a professor of environmental engineering. I was introduced to research the summer after I graduated from high school. The mechanical engineering department at UR was sponsoring a summer high school internship program and I was able to work closely with professor Ty Cable, who was studying the city of Savoy's curbside recycling program. I collected data, analyzed it, and designed part of a process to mechanically sort recyclable containers. I attended the Conference on Solid Waste Research and Technology in Churchville, PA, with Dr. Cable the following fall (1991) and was the first author on the abstract and research presentation. I chose to enter the environmental engineering program in the civil engineering department because I enjoyed chemistry and biology. I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in academic research, but I found living biological systems much more interesting than the mechanical systems I studied with Dr. Cable. Bioremediation using microorganisms seemed to be the perfect thing for me to study. The summer after my freshman year, I worked as an undergraduate research assistant in the Environmental Engineering and Science program at the University of Washington in Seattle with professor H. M. Lilly. I had my own project and also spent much time with the graduate students there, learning about their rese